Dr. G. Manyatera

Executive Dean

The Midlands State University Faculty of Law is located in Gweru in the Midlands Province of Zimbabwe. It is situated approximately 5 kilometers from the City Centre. It is located at the Graduate School of Business Leadership, Faculty of Law and Faculty of Commerce Campus. The Faculty averages a student enrolment of 30 students per intake. Designated by the Council for Legal Education on the 7th of March 2007, the Midlands State University Law School marks an important chapter in Zimbabwean legal history as it is the first law school to be successfully established in post-independence Zimbabwe. Driven by our motto, Pioneering for a better legal frontier, we have cultivated a culture of hunger for more knowledge as we believe that knowledge is power. Our wide network is made possible, by our enterprising Vice Chancellor, and teaching staff who hail from diverse legal backgrounds. We have ingrained this culture in our alumni who are ever widening their circle of influence while advertising their cradle on the regional and international arena.

The Law School is geared towards providing quality legal education that is relevant to the needs of the country and the world. From the first day of orientation to the final gathering at graduation, the Law School offers an extraordinary experience. Producing legal professionals that are meticulous, conversant, diverse and adaptive within the global village is the law school’s passion. In addition to our well-resourced library, our unmatched lecturer-student ratio allows us to offer a vast array of courses. With an average class size of 30 students and countless opportunities for independent research, writing, and various moot court competitions, the school offers a conducive environment for studying law. The Law school also seeks to expand its networks by establishing partnerships with other academic institutions worldwide. In pursuit of the objective of cross pollinating ideas, the Faculty of Law is a member of the International Association of Law Schools (IALS) and has a Student and Staff Exchange Agreements with North West University, South Africa, Rhodes University, South Africa, the International University College of Turin, Italy, Tilburg University, Netherlands. The Faculty of Law also cooperates with partner universities in the Disability Rights and Law Schools Project in Southern Africa.