Dr Miriam Mugwati

Executive Dean: Faculty of Business Sciences

The Faculty of Business Sciences welcomes you to its exciting post and undergraduate programmes.  At post-graduate level, the faculty offer Masters, MPhil and DPhil Degrees. The faculty strives to produce distinctive graduates who are critical and analytical by providing students with a high quality and enjoyable learning experience. By so doing we endeavor to fulfil our vision of being the trusted and admired leader in business education.  From its inception and over the years the faculty has developed a tradition of academic excellence thus distinguishing itself as the faculty of choice for the general advancement of knowledge in the field of Commerce and industry. Towards this end, and in keeping with the national, regional and international quality assurance practices, our programs are packaged and regularly reviewed so as to make them relevant to the dynamic demands of the business world. Our programmes are offered at both the Gweru and Harare campuses through four modes namely: conventional, visiting school, block release and weekend school (Harare campus only). Lecturers in the faculty strive to stay at the cutting edge of research and innovation in order to expose our students to the very best business ideas.

The faculty also houses the Graduate School of Business Leadership (GSBL) which offers internationally accredited Master of Business Administration (MBA) and Executive Master of Business Administration (EMBA) degree programmes that attract students from across the borders. The MBA and EMBA degree programmes are accredited by the Association of African Business Schools (AABS). The association has reciprocal partnerships with the Association of MBAs (UK), The Association of Indian Management Schools (AIMS), the Association to Advance and Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB) (USA), the Accreditation Council of Business Schools and Programmes (ACBSP) (USA) and the Central and Eastern European Management Association (CEEMAN) (Eastern Europe) among others. 

Embarking on this new journey and adventure can be challenging but I wish you all the best and success in your endeavours.

The faculty has 8 teaching units:

  • Department of Accounting Sciences
  • Department of Economic Sciences
  • Department of Information and Marketing Sciences
  • Department of Supply Chain, Insurance and Risk Sciences
  • Department of Management Sciences
  • Department Tourism, Hospitality and Leisure Sciences
  • Centre for Entrepreneurship and Innovation
  • Graduate School of Business Leadership

Our Research